Governance

Advertisements
2019 Financial Statements
Bylaws of the Ontario Genealogical Society
Privacy Policy
Accessibility Policy
Society Annual General Meeting 2020 – Click Here to View AGM
Governance

Ontario Ancestors is governed by a Board of four officers (President, Vice President, Vice President – Finance, Secretary) four to six Directors at Large, and the Past President. The Board sets policy which is carried out by the President, the Executive Director and staff. Each of our thirty Branches and five Special Interest Groups (SIG) operates independently within guidelines established by Bylaws and the Board.

Bylaws are approved by the members of Ontario Ancestors (Bylaws). Each Branch and SIG is governed by the Bylaws and Policies and Procedures unless they choose to adopt operating policies of their own, which may not be inconsistent with the Bylaws. Policy development is directed by a number of committees (Bylaws, Policy and Procedures, Elections, Technical Support and Innovation, Finance, Awards, Research, Cemeteries and Library), each of which reports to the Board. Strategic Planning is undertaken by the Board as a committee of the whole.


Board of Directors | Standing Committees | Operational Committees

 

Board of Directors, 2020-2021
President Heather McTavish Taylor (Heather.McTavish.Taylor@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 252
Vice-President Julia Scott (julia.scott@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 256
Vice-President, Finance Ray Wright (vpfinance@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 258
Corporate Secretary (secretary@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 250
Past President Steve Fulton, UE (steve.fulton@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 259
Directors at Large Ben Dawson (ben.dawson@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 254

Colleen L’Abbe (colleen.labbe@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 260

Heather Oakley (heather.oakley@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 263

Joe Wilson (joe.wilson@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 253

Kathryn Lake Hogan (kathryn.lake.hogan@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 251

Stephen Young (stephen.young@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 262

Vito Giovannetti (vito.giovannetti@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 261

   
Standing Committees
Our committees are always looking for fresh faces and new ideas. If you are interested in getting involved in an Ontario Ancestors committee, contact either the committee chair or the Society Office. (ed@ogs.on.ca).
Bylaws, Policy and Procedures (secretary@ogs.on.ca)
Elections TBD
Technical Support and Innovation Steve Fulton, UE (tsic@ogs.on.ca)
Strategic Planning TBD
Finance Ray Wright (vpfinance@ogs.on.ca)
Operational Committees
TONI (The Ontario Name Index) Mike More (toni@ogs.on.ca)
Awards Committee Awards Team (awards@ogs.on.ca)
Conference Advisory Committee TBD
Archival and Library Committee Fran Murphy (library@ogs.on.ca)
Research Research Team (researchgroup@ogs.on.ca)
Society Cemeteries Committee Joe Wilson (ogscemeteries@ogs.on.ca)
Families Publication Megan Houston (families@ogs.on.ca)
Marketing Team Megan Houston (ed@ogs.on.ca)

Advertisements