Society Governance

2018 Financial Statements
Bylaws of the Ontario Genealogical Society
Privacy Policy
Accessibility Policy
Governance

Ontario Ancestors is governed by a Board of four officers (President, Vice President, Vice President – Finance, Secretary) four to six Directors at Large, and the Past President. The Board sets policy which is carried out by the President, the Executive Director and staff. Each of our thirty Branches and four Special Interest Groups (SIG) operates independently within guidelines established by Bylaws and the Board.

Bylaws are approved by the members of Ontario Ancestors (Bylaws). Each Branch and SIG is governed by the Bylaws and Policies and Procedures unless they choose to adopt operating policies of their own, which must not be inconsistent with the Bylaws. Policy development is directed by a number of committees (Bylaws, Policy and Procedures, Elections, Technical Support and Innovation, Finance, Awards, Research, Cemeteries and Library), each of which reports to the Board. Strategic Planning is undertaken by the Board as a committee of the whole.


Board of Directors | Standing Committees | Operational Committees

Board of Directors, 2019-2020
PresidentSteve Fulton, UE (president@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 259
Vice-PresidentHeidi Deschenes (vp@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 256
Vice-President, FinanceRay Wright (vpfinance@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 258
Corporate SecretaryDebbie Harrison-Tibando (secretary@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 250
Past PresidentPatti Mordasewicz(pastpresident@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 251
Directors at LargeDavid Thompson (David.Thompson@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 255
Heather McTavish Taylor (Heather.McTavish.Taylor@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 258
Dianna Fulton (Dianna.Fulton@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 260
Joe Wilson (joe.wilson@ogs.on.ca) Ext. 335
Standing Committees
Our committees are always looking for fresh faces and new ideas. If you are interested in getting involved in an Ontario Ancestors committee, contact either the committee chair or the Society Office. (info@ogs.on.ca).
Bylaws, Policy and ProceduresSteve Fulton, UE (president@ogs.on.ca)
ElectionsPatti Mordasewicz (pastpresident@ogs.on.ca)
Technical Support and InnovationSteve Fulton, UE (tsic@ogs.on.ca)
Strategic PlanningPresident (president@ogs.on.ca)
FinanceRay Wright (vpfinance@ogs.on.ca)
Operational Committees
TONI (The Ontario Name Index)Mike More (toni@ogs.on.ca)
Awards CommitteeAwards Team (awards@ogs.on.ca)
Conference Advisory CommitteeDianna Fulton (Dianna.Fulton@ogs.on.ca)
Archival and Library CommitteeFran Murphy (library@ogs.on.ca)
ResearchResearch Team (researchgroup@ogs.on.ca)
Society Cemeteries CommitteeJoe Wilson (ogscemeteries@ogs.on.ca)
Families PublicationHeather McTavish-Taylor (families@ogs.on.ca)
Marketing TeamHeather McTavish Taylor (Heather.McTavish.Taylor@ogs.on.ca)