Governance

Advertisements
2019 Financial Statements
Bylaws of the Ontario Genealogical Society
Privacy Policy
Accessibility Policy
Society Annual General Meeting 2020 – Click Here to View AGM
Governance

Ontario Ancestors is governed by a Board of four officers (President, Vice President, Vice President – Finance, Secretary) four to six Directors at Large, and the Past President. The Board sets policy which is carried out by the President, the Executive Director and staff. Each of our thirty Branches and five Special Interest Groups (SIG) operates independently within guidelines established by Bylaws and the Board.

Bylaws are approved by the members of Ontario Ancestors (Bylaws). Each Branch and SIG is governed by the Bylaws and Policies and Procedures unless they choose to adopt operating policies of their own, which may not be inconsistent with the Bylaws. Policy development is directed by a number of committees (Bylaws, Policy and Procedures, Elections, Technical Support and Innovation, Finance, Awards, Research, Cemeteries and Library), each of which reports to the Board. Strategic Planning is undertaken by the Board as a committee of the whole.


Board of Directors | Standing Committees | Operational Committees

Board of Directors, 2020-2021
PresidentHeather McTavish Taylor (Heather.McTavish.Taylor@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 252
Vice-PresidentJulia Scott (julia.scott@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 256
Vice-President, FinanceRay Wright (vpfinance@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 258
Corporate Secretary(secretary@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 250
Past PresidentSteve Fulton, UE (steve.fulton@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 259
Directors at LargeBen Dawson (ben.dawson@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 254

 

Colleen L’Abbe (colleen.labbe@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 260

Heather Oakley (heather.oakley@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 263

Joe Wilson (joe.wilson@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 253

Kathryn Lake Hogan (kathryn.lake.hogan@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 251

Stephen Young (stephen.young@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 262

Vito Giovannetti (vito.giovannetti@ogs.on.ca) Ext: 261

  
Standing Committees
Our committees are always looking for fresh faces and new ideas. If you are interested in getting involved in an Ontario Ancestors committee, contact either the committee chair or the Society Office. (ed@ogs.on.ca).
Bylaws, Policy and Procedures(secretary@ogs.on.ca)
ElectionsTBD
Technical Support and InnovationSteve Fulton, UE (tsic@ogs.on.ca)
Strategic PlanningTBD
FinanceRay Wright (vpfinance@ogs.on.ca)
Operational Committees
TONI (The Ontario Name Index)Mike More (toni@ogs.on.ca)
Awards CommitteeAwards Team (awards@ogs.on.ca)
Conference Advisory CommitteeTBD
Archival and Library CommitteeFran Murphy (library@ogs.on.ca)
ResearchResearch Team (researchgroup@ogs.on.ca)
Society Cemeteries CommitteeJoe Wilson (ogscemeteries@ogs.on.ca)
Families PublicationMegan Houston (families@ogs.on.ca)
Marketing TeamMegan Houston (ed@ogs.on.ca)
Advertisements
Font Resize
Contrast